Your Words Matter

Today I received a compliment from a man whom respect, and I realized something. I almost feel giddy when a man whom I respect compliments me. Even if it’s a simple, “Hey, nice dress.” It just makes me giddy. Of course I love it when women compliment me. It feels great to hear my female friends tell me things that they appreciate about me. It can really give me a boost when a woman I respect compliments me, too. But something about a man’s acknowledgement of my qualities is just so unique. 

I think it may have something to do with authority. I believe that God has given man greater authority than woman. Women do have authority, but if I am to keep true to God’s word and his order of things, which I want to do, I must acknowledge that at least on a spiritual level a man’s authority is innately greater. 

I don’t have a problem with this. In fact I am thankful for it. I do not envy the authority that my husband holds, and I am very grateful that he accepts the responsibilities that come along with his measure of authority. 

That being said, I shall go back to my original point. I simply love receiving compliments from respected men! It’s almost like receiving praise from someone higher up the corporate ladder at my place of work. Sure, it’s great receiving compliments from a peer at work. That’s very encouraging. But when someone who has more authority and therefore more responsibility takes notice of something I’ve done and says, “I’m impressed. Good job.” I become giddy. There’s something so gratifying about that!  

It’s almost like I get the feeling of… Oh dare I say it… “Senpai noticed me!” LOL I was steeped in anime and Japanese culture as a teenager…

Anywho, I just wanted to share that today. Men of God, your compliments matter. To those who acknowledge and accept your authority, your words really do have an impact. Sometimes that thought may be nerve racking, but I hope it’s also encouraging. πŸ™‚ 

God bless!

Anaisa 

…It feels kind of weird writing this freely. I hope I eventually get used to it.

4 thoughts on “Your Words Matter

  1. “…It feels kind of weird writing this freely. I hope I eventually get used to it.”

    The last several have been your best work I’ve read. πŸ™‚ (not as impactful as a compliment from a male comrade however! πŸ˜‰ )

  2. Ah, I love this! I wish I could fit this on bumper sticker, “Men of God, your compliments matter.” They really do and I have met so many men of God in my lifetime, wonderful men put right in my path when I needed them most.

    1. Indeed! Maybe one of these days I’ll make it into a bumper sticker. I do like to encourage men like that. πŸ™‚ Kind of makes me wish more men read my blog. XD
      Well, either way, if I ever make it into a bumper sticker I’ll be sure to send you one. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

