Have We Damaged Our Eyes?

Hebrews 10:35-36
Therefore don’t throw away your boldness, which has a great reward. For you need endurance so that, having done the will of God, you may receive the promise.

For a time I had thrown away boldness because I was discouraged. I felt defeated. So many disagree with what I believe, and some even believe that people with beliefs like mine aren’t even real Christians. So, I gave up. I let everyone else bicker and argue amongst themselves and just enjoyed my new marriage. There’s nothing wrong with doing that for a time, but I ignored what I believe God has placed on my shoulders for too long now.

Thanks to a lovely lady on the blogosphere, who recently re-blogged one of my posts, I have some boldness again. One of the functions of the church is to encourage each other (Thessalonians 5:11), and Ufuoma did that wonderfully!

Today I want to share something that’s been on my heart for a long time. When I published the blog post, The Principality of Homosexuality, I was terrified. I was so scared that I was wrong. I did not want to think of myself as being wiser that I ought. However, I believed that it was and is the truth, and so I published it.

Afterword I continued to wonder if everyone else was right and I was wrong, and as I pondered that I found myself trying to pick some sleep out of my eye. I was picking at it quite persistently until finally I felt a searing pain in the corner of my eye. I touched my finger to my tear duct and then examined it, and low and behold I saw blood on my finger. In that moment Luke 6:41-42 came to mind:

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when you yourself fail to see the plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

I was so convinced I had something lodged in my eye that I damaged my own eye while trying to remove a speck that wasn’t there.

I think that this is what many members of the church have done. We have dug out pieces of our eyes because others accused us of not seeing clearly. Well, now we REALLY can’t see clearly. Even if we wanted to remove specks from our brothers’ eyes out of genuine concern for their well being (for admonishment is also a function of the church – Colossians 3:16), it is now impossible for many of us to do that. Unless, of course, if Jesus does some healing and restores our eyes.

God placed the foundation for Godly marriage, and we can’t just replace it with a new foundation. It won’t work. We may try, and we may even deceive ourselves into thinking that it works, but I do not believe that God’s foundations can be changed.

Thank you for reading my blog. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Have We Damaged Our Eyes?

Leave a Reply

