My Identity: Part One

God has given me my identity. In a world where people are constantly inventing their own identities and are telling others what their identities should be, God gave me my identity according to his grace and wisdom.

First is the identity that all Christians have; children of God who have been brought back into His family by the blood of Jesus Christ. We are Citizens of Heaven. We are co-heirs with Christ through partaking in his suffering. We are new creations, and so much more! Neil T. Anderson has listed many other pieces of our identity in Christ in his book Victory Over The Darkness, which is helping me to understand the scriptural truths of my identity in Christ.

But that’s not all. God has also given me pieces of my own personal identity in His Kingdom. Having struggled with homosexuality during a time when one’s sexual orientation is made out to be a crucially defining characteristic of one’s identity, my own sense of identity (and thus my sense of purpose) became one of my weak points. This is exactly how God showed me one of the ways He likes to work. He likes to take our weaknesses and turn them into strengths in ways that we never could have done without Him.

Let me begin by telling you about the first experience I had in receiving a piece of my identity according to God. I was in high school, and one night at Youth Group the Youth Pastor’s wife shared with us that God has a name for her. A special name.

Her name is Laughter.

Before she began speaking and everyone was chatting, she laughed at something someone said, and one of the other kids piped up and said, “Oh I love her laugh!” and said something about how unique or special her laughter is. During her talk the Youth Pastor’s wife made note of that. That little piece of confirmation said in passing was a personal confirmation of her identity, spoken through an unlikely bystander.

Well, after that, I started asking God to reveal what His name for me is. A few months later, I was walking around the church before the service started and looking out the windows. It was a dark and cloudy day; gray and gloomy. I thought to myself, “I feel like those clouds; gray and gloomy.” This was during the time when I was struggling with depression. Then, as I was walking downstairs I bumped into the Pastor, and he said “Good morning, Sunshine!” and that just stopped me dead in my tracks. He smiled and continued on his way after I said good morning back, and through the rest of the day I thought about that statement. It just hit me so hard. I didn’t feel like sunshine that day. I felt quite opposite to sunshine.

After a while I felt God pressing on my heart that there was a reason why my Pastor greeted me like that. Although the Pastor later said he greeted me like that because he thought my yellow shoes looked sunshiny, God pressed on my heart that he noticed that specific detail for a specific reason. He saw the essence of who and what God created me to be even when I wasn’t living it. It was my name. It was God’s name for me; His title for my design.

Sunshine.

That was the first unveiling of God’s special identity for me. The common identity that all Christians have in Christ is the foundation of my identity, which is critically important and cannot be replaced. My name from Him is a sweet little bonus which helps me to understand in a deeper way who I am in Christ and in the Kingdom of God. God is making my weakness into my strength, and will continue to do so until His work in me is complete.

Thank you for reading my blog.

God bless you. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Identity: Part One

  1. Ok, so I figured you were just one of those trolls that randomly post on other blogs just wanting traffic for yours. Maybe you are and maybe you aren’t, but this is exactly what my post “Queen?” addresses!! I think that is so cool!

    1. LOL Well, I was once called a religious troll on Facebook. I just know how discouraging it can be when you have some thoughts that you really want other people to consider, but no one gives any feed back. Some people want feed back, but some people don’t. You never know until you give it to them. I like letting people know that their thoughts and words actually do matter. 🙂
      I also like to find any opportunity I can to fellowships with people who have the same struggles as me, so that we can teach and encourage each other. 🙂
      I read your post “Queen” and that’s fantastic! I’m so glad that God is working in your life in this way, too!
      (Also, as I’m sure you’ve noticed, when I have something to say, it’s usually not just a short couple of sentences. XD )

Leave a Reply

